Southern Cuisine **UPDATED**

I’ve posted before about some interesting meals at the fire station. So there’s not too many things that surprise me around there, but this morning…

Being southern born I enjoy many of the south’s notorious dishes – fried chicken (or just about anything fried for that matter), cornbread, collard greens, cathead biscuits (large buttermilk biscuit, not really a cat head)… and I’m accustom to some of the more unique dishes – ox tail and rice, chitlins, chicken gizzards, lima beans as the MAIN course and many more that I can’t think of right now.

I really thought that I had seen it all, until this morning proved me wrong. A co-worker arrived this morning  and placed this on the stove to boil:

pig-foot

Yep, that is a pig’s foot! And there was more than one in the pot. I was TOO freaked out to ask if he was going to actually eat them or just use it as a seasoning meat, but I’m pretty sure it was on the menu to EAT.

All together now… EEEWWWW!!!!

**UPDATE**

Since writting this, I’ve learned that my mom and mom-in-law have been known to partake of the delicacy known as PICKLED PIG’S FEET!!! “She used to love them”, were my dad’s exact words… should I feel ashamed?

5 Responses

  1. Darn, wish I hadn’t looked at that! Ugh!

  2. O.M.G.

    That is positively revolting.

    A pig FOOT?!? Wouldn’t it be all chewy and hard and….**swallowing back vomit now**

  3. Ewwwww! That is GROSS!
    How the heck does one go about eating that???
    Do you sever it over rice or something?

    Gag.

  4. I found it ironic that AmyLynn’s comment mistakenly wrote SEVER instead of SERVE.

    Do You SEVER it over rice? Indeed.

    *gag*

Leave a Reply

